Author Topic: Trailer Camping  (Read 3832 times)

87corvetteking

• Junior Creeker
  • Rock Creek!!!
    • View Profile
Trailer Camping
« on: February 18, 2013, 07:44:25 PM »
Hi everyone! I've been going to Rock Creek since i was 3 with my family and we've always stayed in a tent. I didn't expected to have a trailer anytime soon, so I never paid attention to the trailer life up there. The opportunity came up and now I have a 99 f250 SD extended cab long bed and a 29ft alpenlite 5th wheel. We like camping towards the middle of the mountain. I think I should have no problem getting into iris meadow, but what do you think my chances are of fitting into big meadow? I was also hoping you guys could start a collection of trailer tips for me because I'm completely new to it. Places to fill up and dump? Propane if i run out? The rules on running a generator? Common courtesies? And anything else you think will help :clap: Thanks

wshawkins

• East Side Hero
  • Got to love the Eastern Sierra
    • View Profile
Re: Trailer Camping
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2013, 01:56:22 PM »
The trailer life is nice.  I think the family will like it better, probably a lot better!  I love staying at Big Meadows, most of the sites are on the creek and camp sites are large and well shaded.  You will have no trouble fitting your trailer and truck at Big Meadows.  Negative is there are only 11 sites at Big Meadow.

You didn’t mention what dates you’re going up so hard to say if you will have problems finding a spot.  July and August are the busiest months and Big Meadows is first come first served.

Some rules to live by.

•   Follow the rules:     Including slowing down on campground roads!
•   Pets:         Pick up after your pets.  Stop excessive barking or howling, use a leash.  I love dogs but not everybody is a pet lover.
•   Parking your trailer:   Stay on your side of your campsite, don’t set your awnings or slide-outs encroaching on your neighbor’s site.