Author Topic: Rock Creek  (Read 2941 times)

larry

• New Creeker
    • View Profile
Rock Creek
« on: August 05, 2013, 03:36:52 PM »
I'm new to Rock Creek area having "discovered"this beautiful eastside gem. When I first hiked the Little Lakes Valley trail I couldn't decide

whether to hike or fish. I soon got my priorities in order and started fishing Mack thu Box Lake with great little brook trout hitting. I'm heading

up to this area the week of Sept. 22nd and would appreciate any suggestions on Golden Trout streams or lakes on the east side that are

reachable in a day hike, 6 miles or so RT. ( yeah I walk slow, rehabbing from a meniscus knee tear) Wshawkins was kind enough to suggest

some hikes in the Tioga Pass area for rainbows and any GT info. would be put to good use. PM me if you wish, I practice C&R, barbless.

Thank you

saudust

• Eastern Sierra Legend
    • View Profile
Re: Rock Creek
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2013, 04:07:01 PM »
Welcome to the board, Larry.  Late September ought to give you a lot more peace and quiet since school will be back in session and a lot of the summer vacationers will be back in the rat race.  Wshawkins has a vast wealth of knowledge as well as many others here.  If you get up near the June Lake Loop, a trip to Walker Lake might be worth a short hike for a lot of beautiful aspens at the back of the lake and usually some excellent fishing, though no goldens are there.  Plenty of bows, brookies and browns are prowling and the lake can be very serene during the week days.  I don't venture too far for fishing as I usually prefer to be able to nap the afternoons away, so that is my go to spot.  We'll be hitting it in early October and hoping to get the color change in the aspen stand.
Let me wake laughing from a nap in the afternoon under the aspens in the fall.

Trev Dog

• Rock Creek Local
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2013, 06:11:07 PM »