Author Topic: 20 Lakes Basin Fishing Report?  (Read 7475 times)

gtom61

• New Creeker
    • View Profile
20 Lakes Basin Fishing Report?
« on: September 07, 2014, 01:46:41 AM »
Hi,  Getting ready for my trip on Thursday, thought i'd check in to see if anyone has a report for any of the lakes.  Packing in my 5wt travel rod with an arsenal of dries, nymphs, and some terrestrials hoping to have some good luck.  Suggestions on where to set up camp and any tips are welcome.  I mentioned in my earlier posting this is my first time up here and really looking forward to it.  From the posts and pics i've seen, looks like a beautiful area.  Weather looks clear and in the 80s i saw.  Thanks in advance.

John Harper

• Weekender
    • View Profile
Re: 20 Lakes Basin Fishing Report?
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2014, 02:43:40 PM »
Should be good fishing for brookies for sure.  Nights most likely chilly at that altitude, stay warm.  I have not seen a lot of reports from the area on any forums I visit.  There are definitely fish, and probably no fishermen.   I hear the inlet to Saddlebag is usually real good, should still be if there's water coming in.

John

saudust

• Eastern Sierra Legend
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2014, 03:04:21 PM »
gtom61, sounds like your fly arsenal is perfect for there from what all I've been studying about it lately.  Lots of info floating about regarding which lakes have what fish and assorted files to use.  How many nights are you staying?  That might help the more knowledgeable members give you some tried and true routes to cover.

I hope you get to post a TR afterwards.  This will be my first trip to that area in October, though only for a day's hiking worth of fishing, so we're targeting a small area.  If we like it, we'll hike one more day there for some of the other lakes. 

Maybe you'll get the Sierra Slam!!!  Enjoy!!!
Let me wake laughing from a nap in the afternoon under the aspens in the fall.

wshawkins

• East Side Hero