Author Topic: Open to fish this weekend?  (Read 3166 times)

snowowl

• New Creeker
    • View Profile
Open to fish this weekend?
« on: March 30, 2015, 11:37:32 AM »
Hey guys, this is my first time out into the Sierras this early in the year, so I'm not too familiar with what is open to fishing right now and I'm trying to plan a trip somewhere this weekend for my spring break. Digging around I found a few locations open like Hot Creek, but I was hoping for somewhere higher into the mountain scenery rather than in the Valley so I could really use some advice. To give you an idea of the places Im used to going; Rock Creek, Virginia Lakes, Twin Lakes area, Big Pines lakes. Thanks!  :fishing3:

wshawkins

• East Side Hero
  • Got to love the Eastern Sierra
    • View Profile
Re: Open to fish this weekend?
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2015, 12:37:48 PM »
All the lakes you mentioned wonít be open to fishing until the opener, which is April 25th of this year.  What is open now is:

Lower Owens River including Pleasant Valley and Tinemaha Lakes which opened for fishing on March 7th.

The East and West Walker are open year round but have special regulations. 

Hot Creek and the Upper Owens River are open to fishing but both also have special regulations.

Check the 2015 Freshwater Sport Fishing Regulations handbook for more information, especially the special regulations.  You can get one at any fishing store or online at:

www.wildlife.ca.gov
        "It isn't the mountains ahead that wear you out, it's the grain of sand in your shoe."

Mcgee Dude

• Rock Creek Guide
          • View Profile
        « Reply #2 on: March 30, 2015, 03:13:13 PM »
        Hey wshawkins I thought Tinemaha Lakes were closed to fishing all year round?
        Still waiting on my RCL Club Patch!

wshawkins

• East Side Hero
        • Got to love the Eastern Sierra
          • View Profile
        « Reply #3 on: March 30, 2015, 04:53:45 PM »